• image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image

“Millimetron” observatory (“Spektr-M” project) with a 10-meter space telescope is designed to study various objects in the Universe at millimeter and infrared wavelengths from 0.02 to 17 mm. The observatory has two operational modes – the single-dish and Space-Earth interferometer modes. In the first mode observations are carried out with maximum sensitivity, which can be achieved using the on-board detectors of radiation from space objects. The second mode is aimed to solve scientific problems that require ultra-high resolution, up to tens of billionths of a second of arc.

High sensitivity is achieved by deep cooling of the telescope mirror system and on-board scientific payload. While, high angular resolution is provided by the orbit configuration. The observatory is located near the Lagrange point L2, located at 1.5 million kilometers from Earth in the anti-solar direction.

Russian Federation leads the project. It is included in the "Russian Federal Space Program, for 2006-2015 years", as well as in the Russian Federal Space Program for 2016-2025 years".

The prime contractor for the space complex development is Federal State Unitary Enterprise "Lavochkin Research and Production Association". The prime contractor for the scientific equipment development is Astro Space Center of Lebedev Physical Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences and its main accomplice – JSC “Information Satellite Systems - Reshetnev Company”, which is responsible for the design of space telescope construction, assembly and testing of the scientific payload.

Other organizations involved in the development of “Millimetron” space observatory are listed here.

• image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image

Обсерватория Миллиметрон (проект “Спектр-М”) с 10-метровым космическим телескопом предназначена для исследования различных объектов Вселенной в миллиметровом и инфракрасном диапазонах на длинах волн от 0.02 до 17 мм. Предусмотрены два режима работы обсерватории - режим одиночного телескопа и режим интерферометра Космос - Земля. В первом режиме наблюдения проводятся с максимальной чувствительностью, достижимой с приемниками излучения космических объектов на борту обсерватории. Во втором режиме решаются научные задачи, требующие сверхвысокого разрешения, до десятков миллиардных долей угловой секунды.

Высокая чувствительность достигается за счет глубокого охлаждения зеркальной системы телескопа и приемной аппаратуры. Высокое угловое разрешение обеспечивается благодаря расположению обсерватории в районе точки Лагранжа L2, находящейся на 1.5 миллионов км от Земли в антисолнечном направлении.

Россия возглавляет этот проект. Он входит в “Федеральную Космическую программу России 2006-2015 гг”, а также в “Федеральную Космическую программу России 2016-2025 гг”.

Головная организация по созданию космического комплекса – ФГУП “Научно-производственное объединение им. С.А. Лавочкина“. Головная организация по созданию комплекса научной аппаратуры - Астрокосмический центр Физического института им. П.Н. Лебедева Российской академии наук и ее основной соисполнитель - ОАО “Информационные спутниковые системы им. М.Ф. Решетнева”, которое отвечает за создание конструкции телескопа, сборку и испытания бортового комплекса научной аппаратуры

Другие организации, принимающие участие в создании обсерватории Миллиметрон, указаны здесь.